It’s Who I Am

It’s Who I Am

Something to be proud of. It’s who I am. That’s what I do. It’s where I live.
These are just a few of the examples of how we define ourselves. They are not excuses, but true statements about what makes us who we are. They are all reasons for how we became so totally awesome (bear with me on this point). We all have our own abilities, talents, desires, and gifts. We also carry with us our own frustrations, hardships, and challenges. But once again God spoke wisdom to me through the voice of my daughter, Sage, and it was clear, it was precise, and it carried with it a lesson I want to share with you.
While talking to her mother about her cough, Sage replied, “My cough is what makes me Sage.”
I thought, “Wow”, what strong words from a 4-year-old. But, more importantly, what a connection. No, I don’t feel like a terrible parent because my 4- year-old thinks her cough is what she is known by. But it made me think about what we should be known by and how we have let the wrong things define us.
We let words from others define who we are and when we fail to meet expectations we chalk it up to, “Well, that’s just who I am.” This person called me a failure, so that’s to be expected, or this person just said I was dumb so obviously that’s why I failed the test. This person said I was a terrible parent, which totally makes my last parenting decision understandable. Some people called me fat, so I might as well eat what I want.
We let our past actions and failures define who we are. If you were once someone who didn’t handle a test well in school and the scores showed, you probably thought, “I just don’t test well.” If in the shadow of your one bad parenting decision something happened that was bad, you use that as the reason not to allow your children to grow and instead you over-shelter. We failed at getting in shape in the past; no reason to try now it’s got to be more difficult.
I know all of these reasons/excuses don’t match up to what you have dealt with in the past but why are you letting yesterday predict your future? It’s time to break out of yesterday’s words and failures and become the overcomer, the champion you daydream about being at your job, at your home, with your family.
The choice is up to only one person, YOU! Remember that tomorrow’s “It’s who I am” is in the making today, make the changes that are needed and leave regrets in the past.

2 thoughts on “It’s Who I Am

  1. Penny says:

    Wow, this is absolutely right and I think that it is good to block out voices in your head or around you and prefer God’s voice until his voice becomes more clear. I once called myself a name in a mirror I walked past and God called it to my attention. I didn’t even know I had done it. I heard him say, “Don’t call yourself anything I haven’t called you first”. Naming ourselves really limits us. God has named us and continues naming us daily. What would happen if we heard only what he calls us and repeated it to ourselves? Hmmm, might be renewing our mind. :-)….. and world changing.

Leave a comment