Friday thoughts!

Here it is Friday morning, and I have just completed 4 out of 5 days in the gym.  Winner, Winner, Chicken dinner!! It feels good, thought I’m tired.  I sit here though about to go talk to our school about what it is I do, as well as why it is important to have someone for this roll “Children’s Pastor”.  I have thought about it and recently (while sitting through staff) have come to the conclusion that similar to politics you need someone fighting for your rights, your beliefs, and your future! Thats me, thats us in children’s ministry we are here to stand up for Children, we are here to bring them the Good news.  This is not a job, it is a calling, one that takes dedication to see it through but it also takes love, patience, grace (mostly for parents :)).  Why is it I, (we) do what we do?  I will sum it up like this, a youth who used to help in our children’s ministry said to me a couple weeks ago that he did not feel called to children’s ministry, which was weird because he obviously had a gift with them.  I allowed him to speak his peace and move on.  This past week we had Kidz Turn Ministries http://kidzturn.com/ doing a Kids Crusade and during this he helped out.  The first night the alter call happened and along with all the other kids his younger brother went up to accept the Lord.  I watched him go up there and hold on to him with love, and pray for his brother.  Afterword I pulled him aside and asked how he felt now that his younger brother accepted Christ, and he was full of excitement and emotion.  I asked about how he felt about all the other kids coming to Christ and he responded with the same answer.  Then I told him “Dont you dare deny the passion God has placed in your life”!

You see I, We do what it is we do because of the passion placed in our lives by God!

Leave a comment